Under the Influence of Good Music and Fellowship

Good afternoon everyone,

It has been some time since my last blog post and I am very sorry about that. Life has gotten busy! We run around meeting people, doing errand’s, driving our children to activities, picking up groceries and much more. With that being said, we seem to be spending more time in our cars then actually at home. For a moment, I would like you to think about your experience when you are in your car. What comes to mind? I bet you first thought about traffic! What about the drive-through? Do you have music in the background? My point here is, they probably are not positive things.

This morning I had the pleasure of meeting my friend Katherine for coffee. We fellowshipped as we sipped on coffee and ate some delicious blueberry muffins! “These can’t be good for you … they are way too GOOD” Katherine said after just one bite! I have to agree with that statement! As we talked the subject of influence we felt by our culture came up. The situation I asked you to think about regarding your experience in the car, was to ask you this: What type of music are you listening to when you are rushing about? For some it could be rock, hip hop, classical. How many said Christian music? I know I didn’t.

Now, few people are like my friend Katherine. She listens to really nothing but Christian music. I thought about the affect music can bring on our mood. Typically, when I am in the car, I listen to the Mix (101.1). It’s not bad, but it could be better. This morning I listened to K-Love, a Christian station preprogramed in my car. I noticed my mood change as I was driving. With listening to the positive messages my mood was uplifted. Even while you are driving, leaving positive music, more specifically Christian music on, your mood will change. 

I will admit, I swear when I drive. That is wrong! I get worked up over the little things. Example, people who do not understand what a signal is for. This upsets me which leads to swearing. I know they can’t hear me, so why should it matter? It is the way we conduct ourselves. The way we act in a church should not just be thrown out the window when we are not. The way we conduct ourselves should be universal.

Because I think change is needed I am issuing a challenge:

  1. Nothing but a Christian music for a week! This means at home, in the car, at the gym … everywhere!
  2. No swearing! If you wouldn’t say it at Church … don’t say it at all!

To start the challenge off right, I have pre-programed by Pandora to only Christian stations. I have deleted all other stations so there is no temptation. I have also deleted all other music I have added to my personal library on my phone. Don’t freak out people, it can be put back on later!!!! Lastly, I have told my friends and family what I plan to do so they can hold me accountable. Let’s go people!!! I hope you a blessed day. Remember, you are loved.

The Organic Christian  

2 thoughts on “Under the Influence of Good Music and Fellowship

Leave a Reply

