Pshhh, man of steel? Try convictions of steel!

Good evening everyone! Nothing leaves me more energized and ready to take on the always hated Monday, then spending my Sunday immersed in God’s word. Today, I was left strengthened by a message I heard while listening to  Pastor Steve Carter. His message was titled, ” Convictions of Steel”. Just the way that sounds makes me want to flex, my faith muscle that is! But really, when I heard the title of his message, it made look at God like a super hero. Who needs the Man of Steel anyway? Keep Superman, I have God.

In Matthew 7:13-20 it says, ” Stay true to your convictions.” What does this mean? Well, to me, the obvious is to stay true to what you believe in. The second is, I see my convictions as the steel frame work of my faith that God is helping me build. So, while sitting and listening to the message, I began to think about my convictions. How often do I choose fear, over love? When I worry, it implies to God that I don’t think he is big enough, powerful enough or loving enough to take care of what’s happening in my lives.

Before I started this blog, I really never had any intention on starting one in the first place. I have a lot on my plate. I graduated with my bachelors in psychology and am finishing my paralegal certificate right now. I am trying to balance homework, due dates, my job and all that I have taken on there … the point is, I never felt like this would ever fit in with all the other stuff going on. When I prayed at night, writing in my journal, I felt a pull on connecting people with God. I did not so much ask God to give me a sign as, I just thought it and kept going. He laid on my heart to start a blog! CRAZY! Doesn’t he know how busy I am? Pshh, there is no way, he has got to be kidding. Guess what? He wasn’t.

The saying goes, “If you want to leave a footprint, don’t drag your feet.” So, I started to look for a place to start a blog. This was not the first place I choose to start the blog. There was another site I came across first. I just scanned it over and said, “good enough.” Let me let you in on a little secret, God does not like good enough! Would you believe that I wrote the first entry, clicked submit, and it was GONE!? It was deleted! I spent an hour writing it. So I tried again. This same thing happened 3 times! God was testing me. That was not the website God wanted me to post on … he made that known!

I was beyond frustrated. I was ready to throw my laptop down and not even do it. Then something happened. The Holy Spirit entered me and I could feel myself strengthen. It was like God was breathing into me and strengthening my frame work! These were my convictions. Faith is having the courage to let God have control. Just like Matthew says, I have to stay true to my convictions. Hebrews 11:40 says, ” God’s plan is better and greater than any plan we’ve ever made for ourselves.” As I listened to God and what he wanted me to do, there was a sense of calm around me. He told me what to name it, and even what to have my first blog entry about. Worrying doesn’t change anything, but trusting in God changes everything.

-The Organic Christian

Leave a Reply

